Cirque du Soleil
Cirque du Soleil
Close

Cirque Club

 

Cirque Club

Welcome
 
 
 

Show Reviews

 
Write a comment >>

audience reviews

Average: 4.1 Votes: 427
 
Hide Read Comments (725)

Very dated. Music and clowns were irritating. Singers have no stage presence. I wish they would have extended the golden aerial strap artists at the end. Much preferred the intimacy of the tent performance last year than the Air Canada centre in Ottawa.

Member since March 2014

emilie santos, Canada

Tuesday, July 07, 2015 2:44 PM

I've been to at least 10 Cirque du Soleil shows in the past, including all 7 in Las Vegas. Varekai was terrible, by comparison. The acrobatic acts were very retro, and boring, baton twirling, Russian dancing, and way too much of the silly clowns on stage, the music became very irritating, as well as the gibberish speak they used constantly. There was no fluidity with the acts or theme for that matter, we had to research online what the show was supposed to be about,after the show. Love ? Reall

Member since August 2012

Tim Fowler, Canada

Tuesday, July 07, 2015 12:16 PM

This was the second show that I've seen and compared to the first show this one was not as good. There were several segments that needed to do a bit more to make it more interesting/exciting. The clown acts were overall decent but the light bulb guy needs to go. I kept expecting more out of the "main character". He does one thing and he just hangs around.

Member since February 2013

Connor Warrington, Canada

Monday, July 06, 2015 1:36 PM

I've been listending to wonderful reviews of the shows for the past 10 years. Went to see our first show Varekai & were a bit disappointed with all the jibberish. Towards the end of the show, the male solo singer was 'chanting' to what sounded like middle East Music.....& I'm sure I kept hearing the word Allah being chanted........This I found disturbing! Perhaps I'm wrong.....it left an uneasy impact on me! Final act was outstanding & made up for the rest of the sometimes boring show.MCD

Member since July 2015

mona donati, Canada

Monday, July 06, 2015 9:00 AM

I've been to a few cirque shows since my first in Toronto back in 2002, and I enjoyed varekai this year in winnipeg. Brought my wife and young daughters with me and had the thrill of a lifetime being brought on stage with the comedy team. You never know what you'll get with the cirque, but its a guarantee that it will be something special. My family will always cherish this memory. Merci!

Member since July 2015

Joe Hardy, Canada

Wednesday, July 01, 2015 6:41 PM

My sister and I sent our parents as a surprise for their anniversary. We spent time using the story to write clues for them and, as a result, we all felt we had a good grasp of the plot. They adored the show, as did I! The music, costumes and acts are incredible. My advice? Go with an open mind. The blend of interpretive dance and individual performances seem to show Icarus different ways to let go and rise again. Buy a ticket and enjoy! Soon you too will be saying "Ne me quitte pas!"

Member since May 2015

Becky Vickery, Canada

Tuesday, June 30, 2015 9:04 PM

Not up to par of previous Cirque shows. This was my 8 or 9th Cirque show and the least favourite. The show has beautiful costumes, very colourful and intricate. The music and singing is excellent as always. But the show lacks energy and excitement. Not sure if this is a result of the conversion to a stadium show, but this one lacked that "Wow!" moment found in all Cirque shows. They finally get the energy level up for the final act but by then, my interest had waned.

Member since June 2008

Daren Stratichuk, Canada

Sunday, June 21, 2015 11:50 AM

I read the reviews and was then pleasantly surprised. I've been before and I loved it. I brought 2 first-timers; one said it was perfect and the other said it was surreal and amazing. There was more dancing but it was spectacular. The story isn't as evident as others but it is completely engaging anyhow. The ending is impressive, the acrobats are edge-of-your-seat amazing and the other acts are world class. Yes the clowns are slightly risqué, but barely, and they are really amusing. Wonderful.

Member since June 2015

Ali-Sun Morgon, Canada

Friday, June 19, 2015 9:31 AM

I've never missed a Cirque show, but after seeing Varekai in Vancouver in 2015 with 10 others I may not go again. The music was downright painful to the ears about 30% of the time. The 2 lead characters spoke in gibberish with very shrill raspy voices -- I wished I'd brought earplugs. The comedy was good in general, but there was one scene that made me wish I had not brought 2 young children: the male comic hits the female and drags her off the stage unconscious.

Member since August 2012

Ana Wagner, Canada

Saturday, June 13, 2015 4:19 PM

Attended the show in Vancouver at Pacific Colliseum. I was disappointed. From the other reviews I'm not the only one who didn't like the show. I've been to Cirque before but the story line was very abstract and not very good. The acrobatics was not that exciting. I don't think I will attend another cirque show. Too expensive and not that entertaining.

Member since June 2015

Jana G, Canada

Monday, June 01, 2015 5:50 PM

Cirque Club Exclusive
Show Write a comment
Rating of this show
Comments
(Maximum 500 Characters)
Verification Code
Write verification code
Any offensive comments will be deleted by Cirque du Soleil without further notice.
If you have a question, check out our Help section to find out your answer.
 
Share

Share Varekai by email or to your favorite social network

See Varekai on:
FacebookYoutubeTwitter
Cirque Club

GET TICKETS TO YOUR CITY BEFORE EVERYONE ELSE!

  • Free access to pre-sales
  • Email alerts when tickets are available
  • Special offers & exclusive content
SIGN-UPAlready a member?

Cirque du Soleil Video-On-Demand

Watch us when, where & how you want!
Cirque du Soleil TV show specials and documentaries are now available, in North America, On-Demand and On iTunes.