Cirque du Soleil
Cirque du Soleil
Close

Cirque Club

 

Cirque Club

Welcome
 
 
 

Show Reviews

 
Write a comment >>

audience reviews

Average: 4.1 Votes: 419
 
Hide Read Comments (715)

This was the 5th show I've seen and it was very disappointing. It did not seem like the Cirque at all. The show did not have much of a story line, and it was missing that 'wow' factor that the shows are known for. It had almost no acrobatics and pretty much consisted of dancing (which honestly wasn't even that great). The music was much to loud and overpowered the singing so you could barely hear it. I would not recommend this show, it was not worth the money.

Member since May 2015

Michaela Mary, Canada

Saturday, May 30, 2015 12:38 AM

I attended the opening show in Victoria on May 27th. This is the first live Cirque du Soleil show that I have been to (have seen several shows on TV). Even though the show didn't exactly match the preview (which if you read the fine print clearly states that items within the show can change)I thoroughly enjoyed the show. It appears that the majority of the audience did also evidenced by the very loud and long standing ovation given to the troupe after the adrenalin filled finish of the show!

Member since January 2015

Elaine S, Canada

Saturday, May 30, 2015 12:30 AM

Technical difficulties cancelled the performance. Extremely disappointing. We'll see how long it takes to get a refund.

Member since May 2015

David` Mundel, Canada

Friday, May 29, 2015 11:39 PM

SO Disappointing! I usually love cirque and they always get a standing ovation at the end...not this time...not one person stood up...hardly any acrobats...most of the show was all the clowns and the show made no sense! The music was not that great either! I'm so sad this wasn't what I expected- nor do I like to say it was bad! But I know they can o so much better!!!

Member since November 2013

Paulina Hagon, Canada

Monday, May 25, 2015 6:19 PM

Very disappointing, I have been to many cirque performances and have left amazed by the wonderful story lines, costumes, scenery, and skill involved. In watching the promo video after seeing the show I was even more disappointed as the skillful elements were not present the day I attended. I was in row 2, I will always read the reviews before putting out $300 on two tickets, I feel cirque is just pumping out filler shows to line their pockets not providing the high standards we expect from them.

Member since December 2013

Angie Gold, Canada

Monday, May 25, 2015 3:25 PM

I love Varekai show - and that was the reason, why I was disappointed with show in Vancouver. The sound was awful (sometimes too loud!). The female singer couldn't be heard almost at all. Icarian games have been replaced by acrobats, the music remained same, which caused unnecessary pauses in their performance (which actually ruined the act). Loved clowns, Russian swing (they were awesome!), Limping angel, trapeze gymnats, aerial straps (classics!), juggler, handbalancer. I can give 3.5 of 5.

Member since April 2006

R D, Canada

Monday, May 25, 2015 1:25 AM

Sat on the front row. My friend and I enjoyed the performance. The costumes is beautiful. The performers are amazing. The russian swing had me worried a little but it came out great! Thank you for the awesome performance!

Member since May 2015

Cannie Liew, Canada

Monday, May 25, 2015 1:00 AM

This was our 6th Cirque show, and I was disappointed with Varekai. As many have written, the show did not have many of the trademark Cirque acrobatic acts, nor many unique show parts that we have come to expect in each different Cirque production. Afterwards, I watched the trailer to find many things shown there were not part of our show. Our seats were in the second row on the floor and it was virtually impossible to see. We missed the intimacy of the tent. Take a pass on Varekai.

Member since January 2008

Jan Malcolm, Canada

Sunday, May 24, 2015 3:23 AM

Not what we have come to expect from Cirque - multiple Acts did not perform at the show we attended - it was mostly people sliding around on the floor, singing and comedy. Very disappointed. Not to take away from the acts who did perform - some were impressive.. others were not.

Member since December 2013

Natalie Frisk, Canada

Friday, May 22, 2015 4:41 PM

we just loved the show

Member since May 2015

elaina dube, Canada

Sunday, May 17, 2015 11:29 PM

Cirque Club Exclusive
Show Write a comment
Rating of this show
Comments
(Maximum 500 Characters)
Verification Code
Write verification code
Any offensive comments will be deleted by Cirque du Soleil without further notice.
If you have a question, check out our Help section to find out your answer.
 
Share

Share Varekai by email or to your favorite social network

See Varekai on:
FacebookYoutubeTwitter
Cirque Club

GET TICKETS TO YOUR CITY BEFORE EVERYONE ELSE!

  • Free access to pre-sales
  • Email alerts when tickets are available
  • Special offers & exclusive content
SIGN-UPAlready a member?

Cirque du Soleil Video-On-Demand

Watch us when, where & how you want!
Cirque du Soleil TV show specials and documentaries are now available, in North America, On-Demand and On iTunes.