Cirque du Soleil
Cirque du Soleil

Cirque Club


Cirque Club


Show Reviews

Write a comment >>

audience reviews

Average: 4 Votes: 448
Hide Read Comments (751)

I've been to 6 Cirque shows (4 travelling shows) and was pretty disappointed with Varekai. I've come to expect to be amazed by crazy acrobatics and acts at the Cirque shows and this show was utterly boring. There was about 10 people that gave a standing ovation at the end, I was not one of them. I would not recommend this show.

Member since February 2006

Angela Lou, Canada

Tuesday, September 08, 2015 5:43 PM

This was my 3rd Cirque show and if I could give it less than 1 star I would! The show itself was boring and it was hard to follow the story line. After getting home and reading through the program guide, I saw that 4 acts from the program were not even in the show! We paid a lot of money, plus a 2 hour drive to Toronto to see half of a show? This was our daughters first show we brought her to and even she was unimpressed. Sorely disappointed!!!

Member since December 2014

Lynnsay Pilon, Canada

Monday, September 07, 2015 12:14 AM

Worst Cirque show I've ever seen!! Was my 5th show and this one didn't even come close in comparison to the other four, all of which I all absolutely loved. Almost thought it was a joke at intermission since all we had seen were very mediocre performances and a bunch of sliding on the floor. I was actually bored for a lot of the show and not one performance but the last was at all memorable. Seemed like it was all just filler. Waste of time and money and an embarrassment to the CDS name.

Member since July 2014

Mathew Biskup, Canada

Saturday, September 05, 2015 11:31 PM

Sad to give a Cirque show a 2 star rating but I was disappointed by this show. This is my 4th show, was looking forward to being transported to another world full of magic. The show being in the ACC (Toronto) rather than the big tent was a disappointment, it was a completely different atmosphere. The theatrics & height of the performances was lost. Acrobats did great jobs, clowns were funny & the final act was fantastic but there was a huge lack of awe. Not enough "wow!" & too much "hm".

Member since August 2011

Natasha Allan, Canada

Saturday, September 05, 2015 10:31 AM

This is my third show in 20 years. First, Allegria. Then Kooza. Now Varekai. In an arena, rather than a tent or one of their permanent installations, there is not enough height for a decent aerial show. Many acts I'm used to seeing were absent. It was 80% clowning and only 20% acrobatics (and I am being generous in including a baton twirler, break dancer and juggler as "acrobats"). There was about ten minutes of "Oooh" in 2 hours of "Zzzzzzzz". It was like watching "The Wiggles, Live".

Member since October 2013

Kristin Maillard, Canada

Friday, September 04, 2015 10:31 AM

This was my first Cirque du Soleil show, so I didn't have anything to compare it to. I thought it was good, but not great. The costumes were beautiful and all of the acts were good. I found the story line easy to follow, but could see how not everyone would get it. I did feel as though there was a lot of "down time" where we were watching the 2 clowns perform. Overall, I enjoyed the show and look forward to seeing other Cirque shows when they come to town!

Member since August 2015

Meghan Blewitt, Canada

Friday, September 04, 2015 9:20 AM

Very disappointed. Attended Totem a few years ago and was blown away by the talent and unreal acts that the artists were preforming. Last night I brought 11 of my family members to the show at the ACC in Toronto and all of us left confused by the shows story line and unimpressed by the acts. The costumes were great, the juggler was impressive and the acrobats were extremely talented, however none of us were "wowed" as we were at Totem. It was more of weird skits and silly dancing around.

Member since September 2012

David Kelly, Canada

Thursday, September 03, 2015 9:14 AM

I have seen 6 shows from the larger productions in vegas to the touring ones and this one fell short. The story line was confusing and the acts did not wow me as other shows. There were many, many low parts in this production. For the price point of this show - there should have been more complicated acts. Or at least more of the acts. Most of the show was taken up by the clowns and another character that just hopped around the stage smelling his arm pits. Literally.

Member since May 2012

Andrea Gibbs, United States

Tuesday, September 01, 2015 1:41 PM

I had been wanting to see Cirque Du Soleil for years. Finally got opportunity and was very disappointed. I was expecting to be WOW'd by the performance. To see unique and mesmerizing acts. There was nothing that was done that I hadn't seen before in a typical circus acrobat show. Don't get me wrong, the performers did a great job, I just think the show could have been much much better

Member since August 2015

christine edwards, United States

Sunday, August 30, 2015 11:23 AM

This was my 2nd show and I was very disappointed. Amaluña was better. The choreography was lame, simple, and repetitive. Felt like a flat coke. The costumes were awesome! Final act was much better. Only one that was worth seeing. The singing woman was horrible, had a very pitchy voice. The singing man had a great voice. The music wasn't great either and very annoying at times. I went with 9 more friends and we all felt robbed. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS SHOW TO ANYONE And I WANT MY MONEY BACK!!!

Member since August 2015

Dayana Vidal, United States

Friday, August 28, 2015 12:49 PM

Cirque Club Exclusive
Show Write a comment
Rating of this show
(Maximum 500 Characters)
Verification Code
Write verification code
Any offensive comments will be deleted by Cirque du Soleil without further notice.
If you have a question, check out our Help section to find out your answer.

Share Varekai by email or to your favorite social network

See Varekai on:

Cirque du Soleil Video-On-Demand

Watch us when, where & how you want!
Cirque du Soleil TV show specials and documentaries are now available, in North America, On-Demand and On iTunes.