Cirque du Soleil
Cirque du Soleil
Close

Cirque Club

 

Cirque Club

Welcome
 
 
 

Show Reviews

 
Write a comment >>

audience reviews

Average: 4.1 Votes: 424
 
Hide Read Comments (721)

I've been to a few cirque shows since my first in Toronto back in 2002, and I enjoyed varekai this year in winnipeg. Brought my wife and young daughters with me and had the thrill of a lifetime being brought on stage with the comedy team. You never know what you'll get with the cirque, but its a guarantee that it will be something special. My family will always cherish this memory. Merci!

Member since July 2015

Joe Hardy, Canada

Wednesday, July 01, 2015 6:41 PM

My sister and I sent our parents as a surprise for their anniversary. We spent time using the story to write clues for them and, as a result, we all felt we had a good grasp of the plot. They adored the show, as did I! The music, costumes and acts are incredible. My advice? Go with an open mind. The blend of interpretive dance and individual performances seem to show Icarus different ways to let go and rise again. Buy a ticket and enjoy! Soon you too will be saying "Ne me quitte pas!"

Member since May 2015

Becky Vickery, Canada

Tuesday, June 30, 2015 9:04 PM

Not up to par of previous Cirque shows. This was my 8 or 9th Cirque show and the least favourite. The show has beautiful costumes, very colourful and intricate. The music and singing is excellent as always. But the show lacks energy and excitement. Not sure if this is a result of the conversion to a stadium show, but this one lacked that "Wow!" moment found in all Cirque shows. They finally get the energy level up for the final act but by then, my interest had waned.

Member since June 2008

Daren Stratichuk, Canada

Sunday, June 21, 2015 11:50 AM

I read the reviews and was then pleasantly surprised. I've been before and I loved it. I brought 2 first-timers; one said it was perfect and the other said it was surreal and amazing. There was more dancing but it was spectacular. The story isn't as evident as others but it is completely engaging anyhow. The ending is impressive, the acrobats are edge-of-your-seat amazing and the other acts are world class. Yes the clowns are slightly risqué, but barely, and they are really amusing. Wonderful.

Member since June 2015

Ali-Sun Morgon, Canada

Friday, June 19, 2015 9:31 AM

I've never missed a Cirque show, but after seeing Varekai in Vancouver in 2015 with 10 others I may not go again. The music was downright painful to the ears about 30% of the time. The 2 lead characters spoke in gibberish with very shrill raspy voices -- I wished I'd brought earplugs. The comedy was good in general, but there was one scene that made me wish I had not brought 2 young children: the male comic hits the female and drags her off the stage unconscious.

Member since August 2012

Ana Wagner, Canada

Saturday, June 13, 2015 4:19 PM

Attended the show in Vancouver at Pacific Colliseum. I was disappointed. From the other reviews I'm not the only one who didn't like the show. I've been to Cirque before but the story line was very abstract and not very good. The acrobatics was not that exciting. I don't think I will attend another cirque show. Too expensive and not that entertaining.

Member since June 2015

Jana G, Canada

Monday, June 01, 2015 5:50 PM

This was the 5th show I've seen and it was very disappointing. It did not seem like the Cirque at all. The show did not have much of a story line, and it was missing that 'wow' factor that the shows are known for. It had almost no acrobatics and pretty much consisted of dancing (which honestly wasn't even that great). The music was much to loud and overpowered the singing so you could barely hear it. I would not recommend this show, it was not worth the money.

Member since May 2015

Michaela Mary, Canada

Saturday, May 30, 2015 12:38 AM

I attended the opening show in Victoria on May 27th. This is the first live Cirque du Soleil show that I have been to (have seen several shows on TV). Even though the show didn't exactly match the preview (which if you read the fine print clearly states that items within the show can change)I thoroughly enjoyed the show. It appears that the majority of the audience did also evidenced by the very loud and long standing ovation given to the troupe after the adrenalin filled finish of the show!

Member since January 2015

Elaine S, Canada

Saturday, May 30, 2015 12:30 AM

Technical difficulties cancelled the performance. Extremely disappointing. We'll see how long it takes to get a refund.

Member since June 2015

David` Mundel, Canada

Friday, May 29, 2015 11:39 PM

SO Disappointing! I usually love cirque and they always get a standing ovation at the end...not this time...not one person stood up...hardly any acrobats...most of the show was all the clowns and the show made no sense! The music was not that great either! I'm so sad this wasn't what I expected- nor do I like to say it was bad! But I know they can o so much better!!!

Member since November 2013

Paulina Hagon, Canada

Monday, May 25, 2015 6:19 PM

Cirque Club Exclusive
Show Write a comment
Rating of this show
Comments
(Maximum 500 Characters)
Verification Code
Write verification code
Any offensive comments will be deleted by Cirque du Soleil without further notice.
If you have a question, check out our Help section to find out your answer.
 
Share

Share Varekai by email or to your favorite social network

See Varekai on:
FacebookYoutubeTwitter
Cirque Club

GET TICKETS TO YOUR CITY BEFORE EVERYONE ELSE!

  • Free access to pre-sales
  • Email alerts when tickets are available
  • Special offers & exclusive content
SIGN-UPAlready a member?

Cirque du Soleil Video-On-Demand

Watch us when, where & how you want!
Cirque du Soleil TV show specials and documentaries are now available, in North America, On-Demand and On iTunes.