Press Release

Cirque du Soleil Releases First Christmas Album, ‘Twas the Night Before… Featuring the Music of its Latest Production

Montreal, Friday, December 6, 2019

Cirque du Soleil Releases First Christmas Album, ‘Twas the Night Before… Featuring the Music of its Latest Production

Album available for download and streaming beginning Friday, December 6

Montreal (Friday, December 6, 2019)Cirque du Soleil is proud to announce the release of its first ever Christmas album, ‘Twas the Night Before… featuring the music of its latest production of the same name, currently performing a run at the Chicago Theatre and soon to premiere at the Hulu Theater at The Madison Square Garden on December 12. Programmed and arranged by Jean-Phi Goncalves, Musical Composer for the production, the album features traditional Christmas classics reimagined with a Cirque du Soleil twist, including “O Holy Night,” “Up on the Rooftop” and “Joy to the World,” as well as original compositions by Goncalves. The album is now available on Spotify, Apple Music, Google Play and other digital download and streaming providers. A sneak peek of the title track “‘Twas the Night Before…” can be heard here.


“My goal in creating this music was to introduce a little holiday surprise in every track,” said Jean-Phi Goncalves, Musical Composer for ‘Twas The Night Before… “By taking the essence of these Christmas classics, the choirs, the string and brass sections, and of course, the bells – lots of bells – and adding a modern twist with electronics, big drums and fat basses, we were able to reveal them in a completely new light. I like to think that the reconstructed pieces speak to Christmas music lovers as well as those who have yet to embrace the genre.”  

Cirque du Soleil’s first-ever Christmas show, 'Twas the Night Before... is an exhilarating spin on the beloved Christmas classic as only Cirque du Soleil could imagine. This festive show about the wonders of sharing and friendship promises to spark lasting memories in the hearts of families this holiday season.


The track list for the ‘Twas the Night Before… album includes:

  1. “'Twas the Night Before…”
  2. “God Rest You Merry, Gentlemen”
  3. “Jolly”
  4. “Up on the Rooftop”
  5. “The Spark”
  6. “O Come, O Come, Emmanuel”
  7. “O Holy Night”
  8. “Angels We Have Heard on High”
  9. “O Christmas Tree”
  10. “Shchedryk”
  11. “Do You Hear What I Hear?”
  12. “Deck the Halls”
  13. “Joy to the World”

‘Twas the Night Before… was produced, arranged and programmed by Jean-Phi Goncalves, with Frédéric Paco Monnier (XS Music) as line producer and additional arrangements by Emmanuel Alias, Jean-Baptiste Beltra, Antoine Gratton and Alex McMahon.


For imagery, please click here.  

For more information on ‘Twas the Night Before… please visit


About Cirque du Soleil Entertainment Group
‘Twas the Night Before… is the 49th original production of Cirque du Soleil, part of Cirque du Soleil Entertainment Group. Cirque du Soleil Entertainment Group is a world leader in live entertainment. On top of producing world-renowned circus arts shows, the Canadian organization brings its creative approach to a large variety of entertainment forms such as multimedia productions, immersive experiences, theme parks and special events. It currently has 4,500 employees from nearly 70 countries. Going beyond its various creations, Cirque du Soleil Entertainment Group aims to make a positive impact on people, communities and the planet with its most important tools: creativity and art. For more information about Cirque du Soleil Entertainment Group, please visit

Media Contact: Johanna McCabe | | (646) 209-0403